Reflections

(In)security Blanket

We stopped checking for monsters under our bed when we realized they were inside us.

Ever since I was a kid, I have what is so-called a security blanket. My first one which was my infant blanket (the one with hoods) was named Ku-kuh Tutuvi. It lasted for about seven years after I’ve finally decided to grow up and let it go.

But not long enough, a floral-printed bed sheet cover succeeded the throne which goes by the name of Kuki which was sustained for three years then was later substituted by a pillow named Koko who didn’t “live” quite long enough. It was because of Bubut, my current favorite, the flavor-of-the-month. Bubut, however, is different. She’s a big, cuddly, teddy bear stuffed-toy. Apparently, I wasn’t ready to grow up just yet.

51415

Sniff and Shout

A security blanket is any familiar object whose presence provides comfort or security to its owner, such as the literal blankets often favored by small children or stuffed animals, and many others.

The term security blanket was popularized in the Peanuts comic strip created by Charles Schulz, who gave such a blanket to his character Linus Van Pelt, but the terms of comfort object and security object are also used by professionals and academics. The most common popular name is blanky.

The comfort and security I gain from my blankies is primarily the smell. It’s indescribable. But I can tell it’s far from that squeaky-clean sanitized linen smell since it goes away when they are washed. So imagine me hiding them when I sense that mama’s going to do the laundry.

Next to the superficial olfactory appeal is the emotional attachment I’ve developed towards them. So, you can escalate your speculations along the lines of “invisible friends.” As much as possible, I bring them with me wherever I go. When I was a kid, I can’t even sleep without it. And the craziest part is when I make them talk as that of a ventriloquist. But though I regard them as another entity or object of affection, I’ve kind of drawn the line on the sanity limits.

Temporary Madness

So, obviously, though subconsciously, I’ve been personifying inanimate objects. Most people find it ridiculous and sometimes, even disturbing. I’m not a neglected child. I’m also pretty sure that I’m not mentally-ill. Though I’ve been giving so much value and importance to my security blankets, I’m perfectly aware how non-existent they actually are.

I guess I’ve just became addicted to the smell and got used to the ‘company’. But aside from that, I think a deeper reason why blankies are appealing to me is because I’m more of a smelling person so to speak. For example, I often remember or associate people through colognes and perfumes.

Also, I guess it has something to do with my personality. I’m an introvert and loner though I’m not a sulky emo. Haha. I mean, I have friends but most of the time, I just prefer to be by myself and do things on my own. I’m also quite sensitive and insecure, not to mention being a mama’s girl and a cry baby which are all associated with “security blanketing.”

Nevertheless, according to a study in the United States:

“It’s okay to carry that blankie. Children who are both insecurely attached to their mothers and attached to their blankies seem to adjust better to anxiety-producing situations.”

I think it’s the same thing when we fall in love. We often let our rational faculties be subverted by the feeling of temporary madness. And in the end, justify it with studies and researches that sound pretty valid and convincing. (Sarcasm intended).

Coming Back to the Senses

When all else fails, be normal.

In a song by a presently famous rock band Paramore, it was said: “…that’s what you get when you let your heart win…[you] drown out all [your] senses with the sound of its beating…” In this line, we see that senses are seen as something opposed to what the heart feels. The senses represent the mind, while the feeling represents the heart.

In our lesson in Anthropology 10, it was mentioned that there was an issue as to whether senses are good or bad. For me, (forgive me for being biased) as a Christian, I believe that there are good ones, and there are bad ones. It was written in the Bible that human nature is basically enmity against God. But there are also something good in man that can be developed through the Holy Spirit like the virtues of love, patience, self-control and the like.

Kamisama no Memochou (Heaven's Memo Pad) 2

But aside from the religious perspective, I can attest that senses are a vital aspect of humanity. We think, move, act and behave according to what we sense or feel, though we can, at some point and in a way, control it based on a much stronger and higher principle or conviction.

When people hear about my story, most of them find it weird or strange. Some automatically see me as childish. And when things sound abnormal or absurd, we tend to ‘find our way back to sanity’ or in another phrase, ‘come back to our senses’.

For the meantime, Bubut remains as a harmless inanimate object that she is, who is soooo cute and cuuudddly!! Well, I guess fighting all the demons really does take time.~

References: Psychology Today Magazine, Mar/Apr 2005 & http://www.wikipedia.com

Photos: Google Images

2 thoughts on “(In)security Blanket

Leave a Reply

