Christian Living · Reflections

What Matters Most

I looked on all the works my hands had done and  indeed all was grasping for the wind.
~ Ecclesiastes 2:11

The wise Solomon has talked much about vanity and its fleeting nature. All is vanity, he said.

I have always been taught to seek God first. Yet throughout my life, I cannot count how many times I have stumbled because of pursuing my own dreams and will. Our own selfish pursuits, whether grand or trivial, are the things that provide us with temporary happiness and fulfillment but would leave us empty and discontented at the end of the day.

In this era characterized by complacency and self-seeking, it seems enough to appear godly by practicing Christianity. But building a genuine godly character takes getting out of our comfort zone to diligently chase after what we are really here for.

These you ought to have done, without leaving the others undone.
~ Luke 11:42

Often times, we unwittingly deceive ourselves into thinking that since we do the things that people expect to see us doing, we are doing just fine. However, being a true Christian is a continuous struggle to be complete, whole, perfect, even if it means going above and beyond what is being required.

All things are permissible but not all are profitable and not all edify.
~ I Corinthians 10: 23

On the other hand, since we fall short on doing the things we ought to do, we tend to replace them with activities that though may not be entirely evil and wrong, aren’t beneficial and may hinder us from getting closer to our goal in life.

It’s easy to get caught up doing such things when they do not appear to be blatantly disobeying God’s laws. But a drop of poison in a glass of clean water doesn’t mean it is safe to drink. A little leaven puffs up the whole lump, and a little evil still defiles and in contrary to godly principles we strive to apply in our lives.

Turn my eyes from looking at worthless things and revive me in Your way.
~ Psalms 119: 37

It all starts in the mind. But how do stuff enter our minds? The gates of our mind are our eyes and ears. We must guard and filter what comes in like what we watch, read, and listen to. There are things that are very appealing and enticing to us. But are they really worth our time when our time is our life? Like David, we must pray that God may help us refrain from focusing too much on futile pursuits.

Set your minds on things above not on things on the earth.
~ Colosians 3:2

Humanly speaking, it’s hard to choose the invisible over the visible, the future over the present. But the key is to focus on the big picture and to keep in mind that the spiritual things are the things that last as opposed to the physical things that either wither or fade away. By doing this, we put our hearts on the eternal values for where our treasure is, there our hearts will be also.

You are worried and troubled about many things but one thing is needed.
~ Luke 10: 41-42

In this day and age, almost everything is trying to distract us and get our attention away from our main purpose. But what profit do we gain if we were to attain all our personal goals and ambitions yet we lose the sole thing that will make us whole and complete? Hence, do not worry about your life, what you will eat and what you shall wear. Is not life more than food and the body more than clothing? And, if I may add, is not life more than pleasure, entertainment, vanity, and materialism?

To whom much is given, much is required.
~ Luke 12:48

I am privileged beyond measure to have been given this chance. This chance to make it right again, a chance to get back on track. Failures in the past instilled doubts that maybe, I really don’t have the capacity to succeed. But then I realized, what right do I have to give up when God Himself won’t give up on us?~

Photos: Google Images

16 thoughts on “What Matters Most

  1. What a constant comfort that He does not give up and will proceed with the project He planned in us. I like your focus on the Scriptures – it’s our map!

    Blessings ~ Wendy

  2. Very nice blog post! Very inspiring and timely- everybody (including myself) can easily get caught up in the cares of this world. That’s why I’m truly grateful for the Sabbath- the 24 hour gift that God gave for us to reflect and look back on the week that has passed.

    The new layout is very beautiful. Pleasing to the eyes. 🙂

  3. Excellent! This is so far one of the best blogs I have read, if not the best. Made me to evaluate myself again…. Thank you anak, for for this great post! 🙂

  4. Hello, Starr!!! I have encountered your blog just now and read this article. I just want to thank you for inspiring me to carry on. You’re right, “what right do I have to give up when God Himself won’t give up on us?” And one more thing, believe it or not….I am proud of you and your works. Keep it up! Stay happy! God bless you always, dear!

    1. Hello ate Mikka!!! You have no idea how much your comment has made me happy! ❤ It's an honor to inspire people through the things I share on the blog. It's a passion, really. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words! Please know that I admire you for your commendable strength. 😉 God bless you, too, ate Mikka! Stay strong! 😀

Leave a Reply

