Reflections

Facing the Music

Often described as the universal language, music is certainly enjoyable and adds wonder to our otherwise dull life.

To develop the skill of rendering music is one of my greatest dreams. Imagine how enchanting it would be to be able to express oneself in tunes and melodies, and how fulfilling it is to be part of the love music radiates. Belonging to the same family tree as the Kundiman composer Nicanor Abelardo, I guess the love for music really runs in the blood.

During my sophomore year, I have chosen the friendliest instrument of all, the guitar. Perhaps it is the easiest one to play. Besides, I prefer the soothing and meticulous sound of string instruments. However, though I love my guitar, it is the piano I’ve always desired to play even if it has proven itself to be such an elusive ambition.

Oh, how I love the magical sound of piano. ♥
Oh, how I love the magical sound of piano. ♥

No matter how rewarding it is to be a [insert instrument here]-ist, learning to play an instrument beautifully has never been a breeze. One must face the challenges tedious practicing and studying entail, namely discipline and diligence. But as for me, I don’t want to give up on this pursuit just yet. After all, if you love what you do, you will find it pleasurable despite being difficult.

How about you, among the various musical instruments there are, which one do you find most appealing to the senses? Would you take the challenge of learning to play one or have you succeeded already? 🙂

The guitar my dad brought me. ♥
The guitar my dad brought me. ♥

Photos in the article: Blogger’s own
Featured photo: Get-covers.com

11 thoughts on “Facing the Music

  1. I’m a guitar man all the way… love the way it sounds and the many different things that can be done with it. It is a great release of the stresses of life, as well.

    1. Hi Glen! Yes, I agree. 🙂 The guitar is one cool buddy. And based on your recent Facebook posts, you seem to play it well. 🙂 And oh, thanks for liking this post. 🙂

      1. Hey! Thank you for the kudos on the guitar playing! I’ve been playing a lot more lately trying to get some of my skills back so I can contribute to Special Music more often, at Sabbath services.

        Definitely don’t give up on it, yourself… part of the fun is in learning how it all works together. If I can ever help you with something, please let me know.

  2. Wow that’s good! God bless on your future special music performances. I’ve only played in the offertory music (together with 2 violinists). I have a long way to go but I will try my best to study and practice more. 🙂

    1. Hi Glen! Sorry, I wasn’t able to respond to your last post that’s why there was no reply button for you. 🙂 Thank you for taking the time to read and comment on my blog entry. 🙂 Have a great week!

Leave a Reply

