Reflections

The Year That Was: My 2013

Teach us to number our days, that we may gain a heart of wisdom. – Psalm 90:12

Moses (yes, not David) admonished us to redeem the time and keep track of our days. Socrates is also known to have said that: “The unexamined life is not worth living.” With these in mind, let me just go over ten highlights of this year before 2014 kicks in. In a nutshell, I will look back at 2013 as a year of farewells, reconciliations, opportunities and new beginnings.

-11. This year has been a time of fulfilling a few sporty plans such as swimming lessons, kick boxing sessions, and participating in a fun run. 🙂

-22. I had waved goodbye to my job of two years and had a new work after six months, a period which provided me ample time to…

-33.  …do some of the stuff I needed to do such as bible study, reading books, scrapbooking, blogging, and trying to learn the piano. I was also able to spend some time watching a number of series (such as Nodame Cantabile, Sherlock, Pushing Daisies, The Big Bang Theory, and So You Think You Can Dance) and managed to attend six theater shows.

-4b4.  It was also a moment to gain some new experiences such as flower shopping and arrangement, riding a horse, live drawing modeling, and conquering (well, almost) my fear of dogs. 🙂

-5b5. I have also rekindled my passion for music and fortunately, pleasant opportunities presented themselves: church special music, jamming cover, and forming an acoustic band with my favorite friends and fellow L’Arc~en~Ciel fans!

-6b6. I was also blessed enough to enjoy traveling to some places such as Laguna, Batangas, Bataan, Tagaytay, and Pampanga, for team buildings, church camping, and road trip; and to Malaysia for the wonderful Feast of Tabernacles. 🙂

-7d7. 2013 has also been a great year for friendships. Aside from a bunch of new friends, the time was ripe to be reconciled with some good old friends, reunited with an elementary school buddy and highschool classmates, and finally see again and catch up with my ever dearest friends who are residing in Australia. It was also a season to enjoy the process of learning while making my best friend’s thesis together. Another friend of mine and I also got the chance to do a makeover of their house; we worked for 9 happy hours! 🙂  And yes, oh yes, 2013 was filled with a series of sleepovers and slumber parties with the coolest and most awesome friends ever!

-88. I am overwhelmed with gratitude for being able to go back to school as the opportunity to pursue an MA degree also knocked on the door. I’ve welcomed it wholeheartedly, hoping that eventually, I will finally get back to teaching!

-99. Finally, 2013 has been pure bliss since our family is whole again. My sister with my super cute niece are back home and we are together as one not only in happy times but also in general cleaning, battling with the perils of flood, and dealing with, well, nanny dramas. 🙂 And…

10. Ultimately visiting my dearest grandmother (who is ill but fighting) is but a heartwarming way to cap off the year that is soon to pass.

Yes, we do have our share of sorrows and hard times in 2013, but we can always choose to underscore the sunny side of things. 🙂

2 thoughts on “The Year That Was: My 2013

Leave a Reply

