Reflections

Petal Plummage

In a past post, I have listed some of the most common flowers among the vast variety that there are. With flower fondness comes the fascination to learn the art of arranging them beautifully. One of the objectives is to coordinate them in a way that creates a pleasing sight thereby uplifting the mood of a certain occasion. But just like in anything, being able to master the technique of flower arranging requires years of practice. As for me, I am still at the beginning stage of learning from experience and from the experts in our church who are generous enough to share some tips and tricks:

1. The first thing to keep in mind is the type of flowers to be put together. Although the use of our own perspective and taste can produce a satisfactory outcome, it is always better to do some research before hitting the flower market.

2. The second basic technique is the planning of the color combination. For starters, one may consider a monochromatic hue or a complementary set of colors.

3. The third factor to consider is the height of the flowers. In Japanese flower arrangement called Ikebana, the basic principle revolves around the height. The structure of a Japanese flower arrangement is based on a scalene triangle’s three points which are considered to symbolize heaven (the tallest part of the arrangement), earth (the center), and man (the lowest portion).

4. The fourth technique our church “florist” taught us was the manner of inserting the flowers. It may not seem like a big deal but it is for it determines the direction of each strand of flower and thus affects the overall design of the floral cluster.

Below are a few arrangements I was able to pick out from an array of not-so-good designs 😛

This was probably my first successful flower arrangement :) It was an experiment in layering: I've attempted to design the arrangement based on their heights so I used some tall  Mums, and Sampaguita-like blooms, medium Alstoemerias, and short Rice Flowers and Hydrangeas :-) A friend of mine took this photo :)
This was probably my first successful flower arrangement 🙂 It was an experiment in layering: I’ve attempted to design the arrangement based on their heights so I used some tall Mums, and Sampaguita-like blooms, medium Alstoemerias and Mums, and short Rice Flowers and Hydrangeas 🙂 A friend of mine took this photo 🙂
The most recent arrangement I had made, this is an attempt on a monochromatic pink design as well as a matching of flowers. I've used pink Roses, maroon Celosias, and purple Button Mums, with yellow Statice and berry eye plant :)
The most recent arrangement I had made, this is an attempt on a monochromatic pink design as well as a matching of flowers. I’ve used pink Roses, maroon Celosias, and purple Button Mums, with yellow Statice and berry eye plant 🙂
This is my most recent piece, about 3 weeks ago. Here, I've tried doing the signature technique of the expert in our church: her lovely layering of Alstroemeria :) I've incorporated this technique with Birds of Paradise, Green Balls, ferns, and those two tall
Here, I’ve tried doing the signature technique of the expert in our church: her lovely layering of Alstroemeria 🙂 I’ve incorporated this technique with Birds of Paradise, Green Balls, ferns, and those two tall “torches” called Honeycomb Ginger 🙂
The biggest flower arrangement I was able to make, this design was an experiment on a Circular theme using different colors of Mums and Alstoemerias :) (Photo courtesy of Excelsis photography)
The biggest flower arrangement I was able to make, this design was an experiment on a Circular theme using different colors of Mums and Alstoemerias 🙂 (Photo courtesy of Excelsis photography)
My sister took this photo of me while arranging using Calla lilies among others :)
My sister took this photo of me while arranging a set of blooms which includes Calla Lilies among others 🙂

Although the principles mentioned above are fundamental to this task, there are a lot more to flower arranging than simply designing a bunch of blooms: it entails choosing and shopping for flowers AND leaves, securing materials such as a sturdy vessel, floral foam, and other tools like gardening scissors and wires, and taking care of these delicate flowers to lengthen their freshness and prevent them from getting damaged.

Other than that, flower arranging is such a delightful endeavor that demands a playful and creative imagination 🙂

7 thoughts on “Petal Plummage

  1. Wow! I love the 3rd and 4th ones. They’re so pretty! I love flowers specially when they’re arranged artfully and beautifully. It has also become a habit to get my self a flower from time to time specially during very stressful days. I’m not creative, thus a Rose is enough for me. And thank you for sharing the basics! I’ll definitely try and practice these techniques. And finally be proud of my self for a successful flower arrangement attempt. 😀

    1. Hello Kathleen dear! I’m glad to know that this post has inspired you to try and pursue flower arranging 🙂 Don’t you worry, I have made a lot of “mistakes” in flower arranging (e.g. arrangement too short, clashing of colors, flowers that don’t go well together, even flowers falling apart! haha). Just keep on practicing and don’t be afraid to go with the design you have in mind. Who knows, you might actually pull it off! And oh, you can sketch your design first if you want 🙂

Leave a Reply

